BOOK

Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

THE BASICS

Title: Pushing Perfect

AuthorMichelle Falkoff

Series: N/A *Review of the ARC

Genre: Young adult, contemporary, mystery

    Add itGoodreads

    Publication Date: October 25, 2016

    My Rating: 4 STARS

    GOODREADS SUMMARY:

    A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this layered, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead.

    How far would you go to be perfect?
    Kara has the perfect life. She gets perfect grades. She never messes up. Until now. Because perfection is an illusion, and Kara has been struggling to maintain it for as long as she can remember. With so much pressure to succeed, it’s hard not to do whatever it takes. 

    But when Kara takes a new underground drug to help her ace the SATs, she doesn’t expect to get a text from a blocked sender, telling her to follow a set of mysterious instructions—or risk her dark secret getting out. Soon she finds herself part of a group of teens with secrets of their own, who are all under the thumb of the same anonymous texter. And if they don’t find a way to stop the blackmailer, their perfect futures will go up in flames.

    This dark, emotionally resonant contemporary YA novel is perfect for fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History. 


    MY TAKE:

    “It’s the person you least expect, it always is.”

    Review of the ARC provided by National Bookstore and Harper Collins.

    This book caught my interest not because I read the author’s debut (Pardon me, I haven’t read Playlist for the Dead, yet) but because it seemed like this is the type of book that would amaze me. The book started good, pulled me in but the more I read, the more I found myself able to figure out what would be happening.

    The characters were interesting. Kara is a very good narrator, we got to see her struggles just to maintain her perfect image. Since she is having a hard time dealing with a lot of pressure from her parents, her friends and the expectations she had for herself. She thought that becoming part of the group of teens who do the underground drugs would help her. Little did she know, she will become a instrument until somebody tried to blackmail her. Kara and her friends found a way to decipher the mystery. And Kara did not know that the drug dealer is someone close to her. I also loved the supporting characters.

    The ending was… THE ENDING. LOL. No, I was expecting more. I guess the best thing I learned about this book was, pushing ourselves to perfection is not a good thing, because there is no such thing as perfect, right?

    Review originally posted on Goodreads however, Goodreads ate it. 😜

    Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s