MOVIE

Would You Erase Me?

I have watched Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind a long long time ago. I first heard the movie when I was in highschool, I had my copy of the movie in my old phone, and as I was decluttering stuff on my phone earlier, I saw that I still have a copy of it, and since it is my rest day, and out of boredom, I found myself watching it for the nth time.

The movie is based in a world where technology exists to erase a particular parts of your memory. It revolves around a couple, Joel Barish (Jim Carrey) and Clementine Kruczynski, (Kate Winslet) though much of the film takes place in Joel’s mind, who choose to undergo the process after a sloppy breakup and in taking over both painful and the beautiful parts of their relationship. There are a lot of things this movie does right. With a star-studded casts, the acting is fantastic! What else would you expect from Jim Carrey and Kate Winslet, eh? The image of memories is so charming as well and absolutely, utterly smashes on the world of wistfulness.

Confused with the title, i googled it and it says that, it was taken from the poem, ELOISA TO ABELARD by ALEXANDER POPE, the story of tragic love affair where forgetfulness became the heroine’s only comfort:

“How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot! The world forgetting, by the world forgot, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d”

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind is such a fucked up depressing movie, yet, still I love it despite the fact. This was already added to my favorites!

Leave a Reply

